Helmholtz Zentrum München Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt

Scientific award symposium of the 2019 Heinrich Wieland Prize

Register now, there are a few places left!









Dear All,


The Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation cordially invites you to this year’s award symposium of the 100,000 euro Heinrich Wieland Prize. It will honour Professor Jens C. Brüning (Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research, Cologne) as 2019 laureate for his pioneering research on how the brain regulates energy metabolism.


Speakers at the symposium are:

  • Professor Jens C. Brüning, Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research, Germany
    “CNS-dependent regulation of energy and glucose homeostasis”
  • Professor Sabrina Diano, Yale University, USA
    “Central intracellular mechanisms in metabolism regulation”
  • Professor Jeffrey M. Friedman, The Rockefeller University, USA
    “Leptin and the neural circuit regulating body weight”
  • Professor Matthias H. Tschöp, Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany
    “Unimolecular combination therapeutics for the treatment of obesity and type 2 diabetes” and laudation


The symposium will take place on Thursday, 7 November 2019, from 4.00 to 8.00 P.M. at Orangery Hall of Nymphenburg Palace in Munich, Germany, and will be followed by a reception with the speakers. Participation is upon registration only at www.heinrich-wieland-prize.de. Junior scientists may apply for the Meet the Speakers session.

We would be happy to welcome many of you there.

Please visit www.heinrich-wieland-prize.de for further information and do not hesitate to contact us, in case you have any questions.


Kind regards,

Sabine Löwer

Boehringer Ingelheim Stiftung


P.S.: Heinrich Wieland Prize

This international award honours outstanding research on biologically active molecules and systems in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry and physiology as well as their clinical importance. The 100,000 euro prize is named after the Nobel Laureate Heinrich Otto Wieland (1877–1957) and has been awarded annually since 1964. Among the awardees – selected by a scientific Board of Trustees – are four later Nobel Laureates. Since 2011, the prize has been endowed by the Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation.


To view the poster, please click here.