Helmholtz Zentrum München Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt

Technische Universität München

Since its inception in 1868, the Technische Universität München (TUM) has established its reputation as a foremost academic institution with 6 Nobel prizes and many other prestigious awards, making it repeatedly the number one German university in various rankings, including the most recent ones.

TUM covers a large spectrum of fundamental and applied research with studies ranging from engineering, natural sciences, including life and medical sciences, to economics. Today, TUM comprises 13 faculties with more than 23,300 students (about 20 percent of whom come from abroad), 420 professors, and roughly 6,500 academic and non-academic staff. TUM is thus well positioned to create new knowledge and know-how.

The TUM Graduate School (TUM-GS), founded in 2009, is the all-encompassing organizational body for doctoral research at TUM. Together with its Faculty Graduate Centers and Thematic Graduate Centers the TUM Graduate School supports doctoral candidates in their research work. HELENA is an associated member of the TUM Graduate School, a so called “Thematic Graduate Center”.

In collaboration with institutions of the TUM, the TUM Graduate School ensures the high quality of your doctoral projects and promotes transferable skills which are becoming increasingly important. In this way the TUM Graduate School provides its doctoral candidates with the best preparation for leading positions in science, industry and society as a whole.

Through structural elements regulated in the supervision agreement, a tailor-made Qualification Program, individual Mentoring, subject-related consultation as well as gender and diversity services, the TUM Graduate School adds value to every doctoral project and assists the doctoral candidates in successfully completing their doctoral degree in good time.

Membership with the TUM-GS is optional for doctoral candidates who were added to the doctoral list before January 1, 2014 and whose doctorate therefore follows the doctoral regulations from March 2012. After January 1, 2014, new doctoral regulations apply and all doctoral candidates at the TUM who enter the doctoral list after January 1, 2014, will automatically become members of the TUM-GS and the completion of the qualification program stipulated by the doctoral regulations will become compulsory.